Skip to content

A preliminary analysis of Model 1B…

June 22, 2011

Once again I have yet to analyse the data properly… I have only just installed Excel and need to work out how to dump the data from Visual Basic… the necessary information seems to be here… anyway there are some initial results that I can report… firstly, after a few hundred iterations everyone has an income and this remains stable from then on… also everyone works… however the amount of hours spent working for those with the maximum income is well below the demand for their product… without analyzing the data properly, I am not sure why this is, but my guess is what is happening is that those with the maximum income have demand from some agents of only one hours worth of production… thus so long as they remain above that they gain income… indeed originally those with the maximum income were working no hours until I stopped agents from being able to increase the income of other agents from whom they demanded nothing… this is of course another assumption… to extend the model I am thinking of introducing some sort of action based on jealousy… i.e. penalizing those who earn much more than the agent… but first I want to have a look at the income and work hours distributions… so back to Excel ;)… anyway at the very least I can claim that under my initial assumptions everyone gets paid and everyone works… however caution is needed… for example if I return to identifying the worst offenders with the formula of Model 1A, even with the change so that they randomly select from those with the same rating, about 60% still do not receive any income… this means that the model is very sensitive to how one selects the worst offender… one thing that just strikes me is to try randomly selecting from all those who fail to meet the demand… we shall see… ideally what I need to do is evolve strategies for the model using a genetic algorithm… but that will take a lot more thought…

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment